“All I’ve ever wanted, since I was a child, was to do something wonderful.” – Patti Smith

Followers – please head over to the first post on my education blog here.

The School Of Magical Thinking

“All I’ve ever wanted, since I was a child, was to do something wonderful.” – Patti Smith
 
Lately I’ve been thinking about play and my inner child and how it can unravel who we will become as we grow.
I am going back to what I dreamed of as a child and I am staying more and more focused on becoming that. The purity of the poems I wrote in 6th grade overshadow anything I produced as a writing major in college.
We all want to view the world through our childhood eyes. As my co-teacher often quips to our students – “When I grow up, I wanna be like you.”
Meditation has guided me towards this insight. When compassion and self-love are practiced, we can begin to understand our own gifts and see them in others without judgment or jealousy.
I am coming into my own “gifts.” Before anyone labeled me as “gifted” or…

View original post 964 more words

Leave a Reply

